Week 15 Presentation evaluations

Group 4 Presentation

I really liked the issue this group presented. It’s an issue I was familiar with, but didn’t really tieback to journalism and the media. This group helped me to better understand how the words journalists choose to use are a reflection of society but also a catalyst for conversation. I personally don’t like the term undocumented Californians or undocumented citizens. I understand why it is offensive and politically incorrect. However, I’m very much against reverse discrimination. By making words and phrases politically incorrect, you create a sensitively among people and issues. Sometimes it is best to use a term directly as it is used rather than being careful all the time. People wouldn’t see a phrase as offensive if it wasn’t avoided so often. I really liked this presentation and the video.

Group 3 Presentation

This was the second presentation on citizen journalism. Rather than talking about how traditional journalists and citizen journalists are different, this group talked more about their relationship. News sources and media outlets need citizen journalists in today’s day and age. They need a high volume of information in a short amount of time, and don’t have the means to collect/produce content themselves. Not only do citizen journalists provide more content, but they also provide unique content. They go to the places journalists can’t go, and they tell the stories journalists can’t tell. Some of the best evidence of events and breaking news have come from citizen journalists. The Rodney King beating video was a great example of the power of citizen journalism. This group really explained the symbiotic relationship between traditional journalists and citizen journalists, but I think they should’ve talked about the challenges a bit more. .

Group 10 Presentation

When this group began their presentation, I thought I knew where I stood on the issue of under cover reporting. I’ve never been a proponent of it. I thought it was deceptive, illegal and unfair. However, this group helped me to better understand situations for which it may be necessary. I liked the historical examples this group provided. Overall, I see uncover reporting only okay in certain situations. It would need to benefit the public good or uncover a scandal in order for me to be okay with it. The discussion of “Black Like Me” was really interesting and something I had not heard of.

Group 9 Presentation

The presentation this group gave on accuracy in the field of journalism, truly did completely change my thinking. It’s like a light went off in my head. Dr. Rodgers is the one who asked the question which triggered this change of thinking. He said “Do you think readers would rather you be accurate, or the first one to tell news?” This answer seemed obvious when he asked, but not easy to find when the question has been asked before. I really liked the video this group shared about all of the times the media has gotten a story wrong. They have relied on each other for breaking news and have had to make mass apologies because of it. The best apologies are those which admit why the mistake truly occurred.

Group 7 Presentation

This was definitely the most unique issue presented. It’s one I felt wasn’t the most relevant to an ethics class because it requires a journalist to choose between his/her work and something else. However, I thought it was really interesting. I knew about the bystander effect and I figured the same was true of events where journalists are located. The examples this group used were really spot on. When I imagined myself in the position of the photographer taking the picture of the man falling to his death, I had a hard time knowing what I would do. On paper, I’d say I would save the guy rather than take the picture. But nobody knows what they would do if they were caught in the moment.

Kristen Morrell, Kmorrell30@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

